Thursday, May 14, 2009

i drive a rolls royce; cuz it's good for my voice



Long time no blog. Shamefully long time! It's because things have been ultra ultra busy. I know, I know. "Maggie is always busy." No, in April and May, Maggie was more busy than should've been humanly possible. I'm damn proud to have lived to tell about it.

To recap, between last entry and today, I have worked on 10 projects, or shows, in varying capacities. In chronological order, they were:

1. CLUBSCENE
A pilot for a TV show, based on a short film of the same name. I served as "art director" - although it was more like set decorator. It was nice to get to work with my pal Broc, who was starring/co-producing on this piece, and meet a lot of amicable Italians. There's a photo of me & actor Carmine DiBennedetto on set here.

2-7. The Neighborhood Playhouse Final Plays...subcategorized as...
a. The Bald Soprano
b. Vincent 1979
c. The Real Inspector Hound
d. People in the Wind
e. Animal Keepers
f. Lord Byron's Love Letter

Exhausted.

8. Screenwriters' Night - part of the School of Visual Arts Dusty Awards
This was cool - got to production manage while most everyone I know and love performed. Got to work in gorgeous new renovated theatre. Got to chill with badass lighting designer/production guru Tom Zak, who rocks my socks!

9. Pop & Death
It's as fun as smoking crystal meetttth...this was a part of At Hand Theatre Company's annual fundraiser, POP. Written by Marty, and starring my pals Aussie, Nelly, Rubin, and Judy. I didn't get to see all of the performances, since I was running around trying to manage the Nei-Plays and America, but from what I did witness of the event, it went swimmingly. And I was honored to take part in it.

10. AMERICA (eff-yeah!)
Some technical difficulties aside, this one-night-only show was just a glorious experience. This particular group of actors was so special and bonded so elegantly, it was a pleasure to watch. I may post some video from it very soon.


Oh, crap - missed one. How to Succeed at Talent Unlimited. Ah, well.

Til next time,
Maggie

Labels: , , , , , , ,

Monday, October 06, 2008

it's just a jump to the left (and then five steps to the right)



I am tres tres fatigue.

Yesterday's 8 hour Rocky rehearsal didn't feel so hard at the time, but boy. After a 5 AM bus ride back to Manhattan, a script drop-off, a creative meeting with the guys at At Hand Theatre Co., and finally getting to my bread job at 1 PM...sitting here, I can feel rehearsal. Especially in my neck. Or maybe that's the weird position I slept in for part of the bus ride. Whatever it is. Time Warping and Hot Patootie-ing all day in spike heels will mess with you. But I'm pretty psyched about it nonetheless.

Tonight is the first informal readthrough of La Machine Infernale. The RTC staff plus a number of actors we don't typically work with (ok, Judy and Metro are 'old hat' I guess, but I love them so...), and Monsieur Jean Cocteau.

EQUUS was phenomenal. I was so excited about it, I bought a mug. Which they claimed was $15 dollars. The charge that showed up on my statement was $20. What the hell? Either way, it's a lot of money for a mug. But that beautiful EQUUS publicity photo is on it, so, oh well.

BOYS' LIFE was fun. Man & I sat right by Michael Grief, the designer, and their assistants, so we got to hear the little whispers of final dress notes throughout the show. It made me feel excellent that there are things that even Michael Grief has to whisper about on final dress.


This week, because I am blessed with awesome people being awesome and generous in my life, I will be seeing ROCK OF AGES (starring Constantine...!) on Thursday. Words cannot describe the joy...!

Labels: , , , , , , ,

Wednesday, August 20, 2008

the most wonderous of all wonderbras

Okay. I have purchased THE MOST magical bra, ever made, ever. At least for my particular rack. I probably shouldn't talk about it, let alone blog about it, in case that somehow reduces its power. But I MUST. I must share the shocking feeling of walking down the street and suddenly being aware...that I am being watched...by almost everyone.

This bra is also the world's best gay-dar. I am the worst when it comes to making eyes at gay men (because what can I tell you, I like PRETTY, and that shouldn't be a crime), and the bra is a fucking fool proof indicator of sexual orientation.

The thing about this bra is, when I first saw it in Victoria's Secret, I wasn't particularly impressed. It's a decent color - creamy, lacy - with this odd metal clasp in the middle. I looked at the clasp - a little heart shaped thing that didn't close all the way. WTF? I took it to the dressing room with several other options. I didn't think it would be the winner.

Then, when I put it on, I discovered the function of the unclosable clasp.

Cleavage Adjustment.

Fucking brilliant.

So I bought it.

I have yet to put it on a high setting, but it doesn't matter. There's something about the make of it, combined with my body that makes everything...um...bounce. Doesn't matter what shirt I wear. Bounce bounce bounce. It's a little unnerving, all that extra movement in an area that's usually just kinda there. But once I adjust, my walk starts to change a little bit...I stand up a little straighter to accommodate...and then it becomes dangerous to walk through construction areas.

There was a dude sitting in the showroom window of Artistic Tile on 21st street, next to his wife and kids, who made eye contact with me, then the rack, then me again...then grin...I mean, turn around dude, you're buying tiles with your wife! Dude at Chipotle gave me free chips and didn't charge me for my water either. And the street commentary? Classic.

Situation: I am carrying a cup full of Red Mango yogurt for my boss.
Courier/Messenger Boy Comment: Hey mami, that looks mad tasty. So does your ice cream.

Situation: I am in Bank of America
Dude in a Suit: Come here often?
Me: Um, it's the bank.
Dude in a Suit: Yeah, do you come to this one often?
Me: Sure.
Dude in a Suit: So do I. Maybe we'll get to be friends.
Me: Sounds great. (I promptly exit...)

Situation: I am carrying a yoga mat.
Young Thug: Check it out, brah, she's fuckin' flexible too.
Young Thug 2: Nice legs, sexy.
Young Thug: Think of me when you do that upside down shit! I put you upside down too, sexy!



I'm not trying to boast. It's just blowing my mind, man. I mean, my friends - Aussie, Daisy, Judy - THOSE girls have boobs. When I wear a short skirt in my neighborhood, I hear about it, but I'm not really the type that gets hollered at 24-7. So heck. I'm gonna enjoy it.

Me & the wonderbra must take to the streets now...work day is over.

xoxo
M

Labels: , ,

Sunday, July 27, 2008

zip

I found another unpublished blog fragment. It is all poignant and heartfelt and such from the week that Man & I decided he should move out. So, ya'll should see it, before I continue on to sunnier topics.

"Hello.

Well, it's a marvel to me how the universe has chosen to spin things in the summer of 2008. Almost everyone near and dear to me has experienced some kind of super-traumatic heartbreak, and now I'm the last to join the gang.

Not to get into melodrama, but Man is moving out, and I am hella sad. As is he. Does this completely spell curtains for the two of us? Perhaps not. But right now, I have a little E.T. inside of me, constantly uttering "Ouch.." and pointing his glowy finger at my heart. The weirdest thing is not knowing what to do with shit like my facebook relationship status. Like, I can deal with talking to Man, and having dinner with Man, and sleeping next to Man without issue (well, sorta), but I click on my effin' profile and have a small heart attack."



So that was that. That is that. Or whatever. Truth is, we get along better since things got all horrible. The impending separation makes us kinder to one another, I think. But it is funny. This past Saturday, Man & I arrived together at Judy's birthday, which I think took people by surprise. And it was fun, gleefully explaining the weird okay-ness of the situation to Numbers. Numbers! Le sigh. Remember when...I was naught but a ickle theatre student, chasing madly after cute boys? When did I get so serious?

Something about the evening made me aware of my seriousness and determined to remedy that ASAP. So when Minnie took my hand and led me up to the bar to dance...on top of it...I happily obliged. We danced on the boring half of the bar for a minute, then switched to the better side; got two shots for our efforts, and a lot of creepy yuppie dudes grabbing our feet. Later in the night, we got back on the bar with Judy, Candie, Metro's ex-maybe-not-ex (?) Jewel, and Slayer...for what seemed like ages. Four songs? Five? When I came down, I demanded that Man & I get in a cab immediately. I vaguely remember a conversation after our arrival home about disliking fruit punch.




The Real Theatre Company is having a benefit - and I need volunteers for living statues. Anyone wanna get painted gold and walk around the party lookin' exotic?

Also, directing a reading for the At Hand Theatre Company at Gene Frankel Theatre (*gasp* *choke* I am so so so terrified of the woman that runs this theatre...basically burnt the RTC for a grand...and I just DO NOT want to deal with the confrontation...though I know I must). The play is called "Little Trees" and I really dig it. Lookin forward to expanding my little world to include some people who did not go to Nei-Play...much as I love the NP scene, it's been over a year and it's time to branch out.

A Good Idea should be up tonight - I'll post a link.

xoxo
M

Labels: , , , , , ,

Wednesday, February 28, 2007

let the drinks pour, let the crowds roar

Show #1, done and down. The Shetacular closed, and it was a Rave un2 the joy fantastic on the final night. That decision to say "fuck it" is always important.

I think what I can take away most from the extremely tense yet hilarious working experience that the whole thing was...is an altogether better method of delegation. One of the key things I have to remind myself when working in any kind of authority or (ahem) directorial position is I MUST DELEGATE. I'm the type that would rather take on the universe before asking for help. But when you are blessed with a capable team, you must learn to rely on them. By some incredible luck, when I decided to take on the task of costuming 26 people more than twice over (for two polar opposite musical theatre pieces), I was assigned a team of 7 volunteers who were willing...and kind...and excited...and GOOD at it. These are actresses, man, not seamstresses. But they were terrific. And once I learned I could depend on them, I stuck Judy (Cali's first year girlfriend, and an all-around awesome chick) at the helm, and actually became designer/actress...sweeping in with sequin suggestions, chopping up skirts, and pinning vests...and then leaving the team to execute with glorious precision.

So teamwork, right?

We had our first real Hair rehearsal. And Swank made it. With Sessoms, Metro, Boss, Daisy and several newcomers present. My mother, el choreographer, threw a bunch of very peculiar sixties movement exercises their way. It went...

GLORIOUSLY.

I have never been more thrilled with a first rehearsal. Something about this group INSTANTLY gelled, and there wasn't any fear in the room whatsoever. Everyone dove in.

Which reinforces that feeling of this being some kind of heaven-sent production. Truly, truly I think this one is going to be special, in ways I can't even imagine yet.

I miss Man. It doesn't hurt, exactly. But it's there. A little hum in my heart.

Labels: , , , , , ,